You need to enable JavaScript to run this app.
Certificate Center

Certificate Center

Copy page
Download PDF
Certificate management
Revoking an SSL certificate
Copy page
Download PDF
Revoking an SSL certificate
Revoking an SSL certificate makes it invalid before its scheduled expiration date. A revoked SSL certificate can no longer be used. This article describes how to revoke an SSL certificate.​
Application scenarios​
During a certificate's validity period, we recommend you submit a certificate revocation request to the CA if you have any of the following needs. This prevents security risks, such as certificate theft.​
  • The certificate was issued with incorrect information, and you need to resubmit the certificate request.​
  • The certificate has been issued, but you need to replace the domain name it protects.​
  • For security reasons, such as a compromised private key, you no longer want to use the issued certificate.​
Restrictions​
In the Certificate Center console, you can only revoke certificates ordered through Certificate Center, not the certificates you have uploaded.​
To revoke an uploaded certificate, contact the certificate provider.​
Prerequisites​
  • An SSL certificate cannot be used after it is revoked. We recommend that you revoke a certificate only after confirming it is no longer in use.​
warning​
If your service is still using a revoked certificate, the service will be affected. For example, users cannot access your service or will receive an "unsafe" warning.​
  • A revoked SSL certificate cannot be restored. Proceed with caution.​
Procedure​
  1. Log in to the Certificate Center console.​
  1. In the left navigation pane, choose SSL Certificate > Certificates.​
  1. On the Certificate management page, find the certificate you plan to revoke, click the ... in the Actions column, and then click Revoke.​
tip​
The Revoke button only appears when the certificate status is Issued.​
  1. In the pop-up dialog box, enter a revocation reason, and then click Revoke.​
  1. Follow the on-screen instructions to complete the Account Protection verification.​
  • Account protection is a security measure for BytePlus accounts that requires you to perform a second identity verification when conducting sensitive operations. Revoking an SSL certificate is a sensitive operation. If you have enabled Account protection, you need to complete the second identity verification according to the on-screen instructions.​
  • The methods for second identity verification include phone number verification, MFA verification, etc. The specific method used depends on the Security Settings of your account.​
After you have completed the above steps, BytePlus Certificate Center will submit the certificate revocation request to the CA. At this time, the status of the corresponding certificate will change to Revoking.​
After receiving the revocation request, the CA will revoke the corresponding SSL certificate. You can check the status of the certificate in the BytePlus Certificate Center console later. When the status of the certificate changes to Revoked, it means that the SSL certificate has been successfully revoked.​
Last updated: 2026.04.01 10:51:37