To release a subscription cluster of Volcano Engine E-MapReduce (EMR) before its expiration, you can apply for a refund to release the corresponding cluster in advance. This document introduces the refund and renewal features for subscription clusters.
tip
After the cluster is released, the cluster instance cannot be restored. Proceed with unsubscription with caution.
Billing methods | Unsubscription rules | Unsubscription methods |
|---|---|---|
Subscription | For Subscription clusters, the fee is paid in advance based on the subscription period at the time of purchase. After unsubscribing from the cluster, Volcano Engine will refund the remaining actual cash paid amount of the order (the amount paid in cash by the user, excluding the portion offset by vouchers) to your Volcano Engine account balance according to the type of unsubscription request, the corresponding rules, and the cluster usage time. Used vouchers are not refundable. |
|
Pay-As-You-Go | Pay-As-You-Go generates bills in real time based on actual usage, so refunds are not involved. | Unsubscription does not apply |
Before a subscription cluster is automatically released, you can renew the cluster manually or automatically. After enabling automatic renewal, the system will automatically perform the renewal operation before the resource expires. No manual action is required, and you do not need to worry about resource and data deletion due to failure to renew on time. This document describes how to manually and automatically renew EMR clusters, as well as how to cancel automatic renewal.
The unified renewal expiration date feature allows you to renew multiple subscription (non-calendar month) instances so that they expire on a fixed day each month. After configuration is complete, it applies to all Subscription (non-calendar month) instances. Each time you initiate a manual renewal, you can choose whether to align with the previously set unified expiration date.
For instructions, refer to Unified expiration date .
During EMR cluster usage, manual expansion of node groups may cause newly purchased instances to have expiration times inconsistent with the cluster. This can currently be resolved by specifying the expiration time, that is, by renewing to fully unify the expiration time of Subscription (non-calendar month) instances, including year, month, and day.
tip
procedure
Before a Subscription instance expires, you can enable automatic renewal. Seven days before the instance expires, the system will automatically deduct the renewal fee from your account balance. Please ensure your balance is sufficient. You can also select the "Automatic renewal" option when purchasing a Subscription cluster. Automatic renewal can also be enabled after purchasing a Subscription cluster.
After enabling automatic renewal, if your account contains available vouchers, the system will prioritize using vouchers for renewal.
Scenario | Action |
|---|---|
Enable automatic renewal when purchasing a Subscription cluster |
|
Enable automatic renewal after purchasing a Subscription cluster |
tip After enabling automatic renewal, automatic deduction will occur 7 days before the cluster expires, and each renewal will be valid for 1 month. |
For detailed instructions, refer to Billing Center - Renewal Management - Automatic renewal deduction date.
If automatic renewal is no longer required after the current billing cycle ends, you can cancel automatic renewal in advance. After enabling automatic renewal, the system will start automatic deduction seven days before the instance expires. To cancel automatic renewal, perform the operation before automatic deduction occurs.
tip
After disabling automatic renewal, you must manually renew the cluster before its expiration. Otherwise, the cluster will enter the shutdown status due to overdue payment.