You need to enable JavaScript to run this app.
Database Workshop

Database Workshop

Copy page
Download PDF
User management
User group management
Copy page
Download PDF
User group management
Database Workshop (DBW) provides user group management. By assigning Volcano Engine sub-users to user groups, you can uniformly assign permissions and settings to all members of the group.​
Precautions​
  • After setting the daily execution limit and daily query row limit for DBW system role users, the remaining execution times and query rows are displayed in the upper right corner of the SQL execution area when the DBW system role users log in to the database interaction console.​
  • When deleting a user group, if the users in the user group have modified personal user permissions, have been added as approval nodes of the approval workflow, or have been set as the Instance DBA or Owner of the instance, the personal user will not be deleted when the user group is deleted.​
  • When you synchronize user group information, only the user group information of users who add Volcano Engine account is synchronized according to the project they belong to.​
  • Within a single region, a tenant can add up to 200 user groups.​
Prerequisites​
Volcano Engine sub-users have been created. For detailed steps, see User management.​
Create user group​
  1. Log on to the DBW console.​
  1. On the top menu bar, select the target region.​
  1. On the left navigation bar, select Corporate security > User management.​
  1. On the User management page, click User group management.​
  1. On the User group management tab, click Add user group.​
  1. In the Add user group panel, configure the following parameter information.​
  • ​
    Type​
    Parameter​
    Description​
    User group information​
    User group name​
    Customize the user group name, which can contain up to 128 characters.​
    ​
    Description​
    (Optional) Customize remarks for the user group, which can contain up to 256 characters. It is recommended that the description be related to the business.​
    ​
    Add Volcano Engine account​
    Select a way to add a Volcano Engine account as needed. The following two methods are supported:​
    • Directly select: Select the sub-users to add from the drop-down list.​
    ​
    Select IAM user group​
    Select the IAM user group as needed. You can also select all users under the project that are not in the user group.​
    ​
    Change synchronization policy​
    Check whether to synchronize user changes in the project as needed. You can not synchronize or periodically synchronize. If you select periodic synchronization, user changes will be synchronized from the project at 0:00 (GMT+0) every day. For example, if users or user groups are added or removed from the project, the users in the DBW user group will follow the user changes in the project at 0:00 every day.​
    Role and SQL window permissions​
    DBW role​
    Select a DBW role as required. You can select Administrator or Normal user.​
    tip​
    For detailed information about DBW roles, see Role description.​
    ​
    Maximum number of queries per day​
    Set the upper limit of the number of daily executions of the DBW role as required. The default value is 20000, and the value range is 1~999999999.​
    tip​
    To execute SQL, the SQL execution permission of the database object must be authorized for the user.​
    ​
    Queries expiration time​
    Set the validity period for the maximum number of daily queries. Currently, the options include Permanent valid, Valid for 6 months, Valid for 3 months (default), Valid for 1 month, Valid for 2 weeks, Valid for 7 days, Valid for the day, and Customize. The default validity period is Valid for 3 months.​
    ​
    Daily query row limit​
    Set the upper limit on the number of rows queried daily for the DBW role as needed. The default value is 20000, and the value range is 1~999999999.​
    tip​
    To query SQL, the SQL query permission of the database object must be authorized for the user.​
    ​
    Query row validity period​
    Set the validity period for the daily query row limit. Currently, the options include Permanent valid, Valid for 6 months, Valid for 3 months (default), Valid for 1 month, Valid for 2 weeks, Valid for 7 days, Valid for the day, and Customize. The default validity period is valid for 3 months.​
    ​
  1. Click OK.​
Authorize user groups​
After a user group is created, you can grant the user group operation permissions for the specified instance. The detailed operations are as follows:​
Synchronize user group​
DBW provides a one-click synchronization function for user groups, which supports real time synchronization of user changes from the project, such as adding or reducing users or user groups in the project. After synchronizing user group information, the users in the DBW user group will also be consistent with the users in the project.​
  1. Log on to the DBW console.​
  1. On the top menu bar, select the target region.​
  1. On the left navigation bar, select Corporate security > User management.​
  1. On the User management page, click User group management.​
  1. On the User group management tab, click Synchronize user group information.​
  1. In the dialog box, click OK.​
Edit user group​
  1. Log on to the DBW console.​
  1. On the top menu bar, select the target region.​
  1. On the left navigation bar, select Corporate security > User management.​
  1. On the User management page, click User group management.​
  1. On the User group management tab, click Edit in the Actions column of the target user group.​
  1. In the editing user control panel, configure User group information and Role and SQL window permissions. For more parameter information, see Create user group.​
  1. Click OK.​
Delete user group​
tip​
  • After the deletion, the personal users automatically created under the user group will continue to be reserved, but their permissions will be revoked.​
  • When deleting a user group, if the personal users in the user group have not performed the following operations, they will be deleted together with the user group:​
  • Permissions have not been modified separately.​
  • Not added as an approval node.​
  • Not set as an instance DBA or instance Owner.​
  1. Log on to the DBW console.​
  1. On the top menu bar, select the target region.​
  1. On the left navigation bar, select Corporate security > User management.​
  1. On the User management page, click User group management.​
  1. On the User Group Management tab, in the Actions column of the target user, choose ... > Delete.​
  1. In the Confirm Deletion dialog box, click Delete.​
View user group​
  1. Log on to the DBW console.​
  1. On the top menu bar, select the target region.​
  1. On the left navigation bar, select Corporate security > User management.​
  1. On the User management page, click User group management.​
  1. On the User Group Management tab, view the created user group information, including User group name, User group ID, Number of users included, Description, DBW role, Daily execution limit, Daily query row limit, and other information.​
  1. You can also select ... in the Actions column of the target user group. To view Permission Details, see the permission information for the user group.​
  1. You can view your expiration time in the Daily Execution Limit and Daily Query Row Limit columns.​
​
Last updated: 2026.07.02 16:56:33