- Documentation
Torch Object Storage
FAQ
How do I disable TOS or stop billing?
FAQ
How do I disable TOS or stop billing?
How do I disable TOS or stop billing?
To avoid any unexpected impact on your business, TOS does not provide a direct way to disable the service. If you no longer need TOS, delete all data stored in it. Once all data has been deleted, TOS will stop billing.
- Data deleted from TOS cannot be recovered. To avoid affecting your normal business operations, we recommend backing up your data before deletion.
- If your bucket is configured with same-region or cross-region replication, deletion operations may be replicated to the destination bucket synchronously. Before deleting data, check the replication rules.
- Depending on the size of your data, the deletion process may take several hours or even days to complete and may incur API request fees.
- Wait 30 minutes after deleting a bucket before creating a new one with the same name.
Before deleting a bucket, make sure that it is empty. Otherwise, deletion is not possible.
- If the bucket contains objects, you must clear them first. For instructions, see Deleting objects.
- If you have enabled versioning for the bucket, you must first completely delete any objects with historic versions. For instructions, see Permanently deleting an object.
- If the bucket contains file fragments, or incomplete multipart uploads, you must first clear all of the fragments. For instructions, see Deleting parts.
tip
Lifecycle supports expiration policies that automatically delete objects after a set amount of time. If you want to delete a bucket with a large number of objects, we recommend using the Lifecycle feature to quickly remove everything in it. For instructions, see Configuring lifecycle rules. You can delete a bucket once its resources have been emptied. For more information, see Deleting buckets. Why can't I create a bucket with the same name as the one I deleted?
Wait 30 minutes after deleting a bucket before creating a new one with the same name.
How do I fix insufficient permissions when I try to delete something?
Deleting data requires permissions for operations such as listing and deleting. We recommend using either a master account or an Identity and Access Management (IAM) user with the appropriate permissions. Alternatively, you can contact your administrator and request the TOSFullAccess permission. Can data be recovered after it has been deleted?
Data deleted from TOS cannot be recovered. Make sure you have completed a data backup before deletion.
How do I stop TOS billing completely?
Billing stops once you have completely emptied all TOS buckets under your account.
Last updated: 2026.06.22 15:21:16