You need to enable JavaScript to run this app.
Torch Object Storage

Torch Object Storage

Copy page
Download PDF
Versioning
Overview
Copy page
Download PDF
Overview
You can use the versioning feature to keep multiple versions of objects in your bucket so that you can restore objects that are accidentally deleted.​
Use cases​
When versioning is enabled on your bucket, TOS automatically saves historical versions of your original data whenever you delete or overwrite it. If you perform an accidental operation, you can restore the data to a previous version to prevent data loss or unintended modifications. Versioning enhances fault tolerance and is therefore suitable for scenarios requiring high data reliability.​
Billing notes​
Enabling versioning does not incur additional fees. However, you will be charged for storing historical object versions. To avoid unnecessary charges, promptly delete historical versions that are no longer needed. Additionally, you will be charged for the request and data transfer when downloading or restoring historical versions. To learn more, see Billing overview.​
Versioning state​
The following table shows how a bucket's versioning state affects the behavior of objects.​
​
Versioning state​
Object behavior​
When you delete an object​
When you overwrite an object​
Unversioned (Default)​
Each object in the bucket is unique and does not have a version ID.​
The object is deleted immediately and cannot be retrieved later.​
The object is overwritten immediately and is therefore unrecoverable.​
Versioning-enabled​
Every object is unique, and each version is given a version ID.​
  • When Show versions is off:​
  • Deleting the object does not permanently remove it. Instead, a deletion mark is added, making TOS behave as if the object were deleted.​
  • When Show versions is on:​
  • The object can be permanently deleted.​
  • A new version of the object is generated with a globally unique version ID.​
  • Historical versions remain unaffected.​
Versioning-suspended​
The version ID of objects uploaded to the bucket will become null.​
  • When Show versions is off:​
  • If the object's version ID is null, the object will be deleted.​
  • If the version ID is not null, the object will not be deleted and a deletion mark will be added instead.​
  • When Show versions is on:​
  • The object can be permanently deleted.​
  • A new version of the object is generated with a null version ID.​
  • If a historical version with a null version ID has the same name as the new version, the historical version will be overwritten.​
  • Other historical versions with non-null version IDs remain unaffected.​
​
​
Last updated: 2026.08.14 16:23:29