You need to enable JavaScript to run this app.
Torch Object Storage

Torch Object Storage

Copy page
Download PDF
Working with objects
Moving objects
Copy page
Download PDF
Moving objects
You can use the TOS console to move files or folders to different locations. This topic explains what to consider and what steps to take.​
Prerequisites​
​
Category​
Notes​
Versioning​
If you have enabled versioning for your bucket, make sure you toggle off the Show versions switch before moving any objects.​
Storage type​
Before moving objects from Archive, Cold Archive, or Deep Cold Archive, you must first restore them to a readable state.​
​
Constraints and limitations​
​
Category​
Notes​
Redundancy​
You can move objects between single-AZ and multi-AZ buckets. An object becomes a single-AZ object when moved to a single-AZ bucket and a multi-AZ object when moved to a multi-AZ bucket. For more information on multi-AZ, see Multi-AZ redundancy.​
Size limit​
Through the console, you can only move objects smaller than 50 GiB. To move larger objects, use TOS Browser.​
Usage limit​
Moving an object to its original location is not permitted.​
​
Notes​
Exercise caution when moving objects between parent and child directories. Objects with the same name at different levels may be overwritten, which could result in data loss.​
Steps​
  1. Log in to the TOS console.​
  1. In the left navigation pane, click Buckets.​
  1. In the top menu bar, select the project of the bucket you want to manage.​
  1. On the Buckets page, click the name of the bucket.​
  1. On the Objects page:​
  1. Select the file or folder you want to move by checking the box next to it.​
  1. Click Move to at the bottom of the list.​
  1. In the Move To Folder dialog box, select a folder, and then click Move.​
tip​
  • To move objects to a new folder, click Create Folder in the lower-left corner of the dialog box. Then, enter the folder name, and click the checkmark icon. For folder naming rules, see Creating folders.​
  • If the destination folder contains an object with the same name, you can choose to Overwrite or Skip it. Then, click Move to finish moving.​
​
Last updated: 2026.08.18 18:04:11