TOS offers several ways to permanently delete objects in the Recycle Bin, including lifecycle rules, recycle bin withdrawn policies, and manual deletion. This topic explains how to permanently delete objects in the Recycle Bin for complete data removal.
Once the Recycle Bin feature is enabled, objects deleted via lifecycle rules, object expiration, or manual deletion are automatically moved to the recycle bin directory, instead of being permanently deleted. To reduce storage costs, you may need to permanently delete them from the Recycle Bin.
- To permanently delete recycle bin objects using a lifecycle rule, disable the Recycle Bin feature first.
Permanently deleting recycle bin objects manually
- In the left navigation pane, click Buckets. In the Buckets list, click the bucket you want to manage.
- On the Objects page, click the .Trash/ directory.
- Locate the object you want to remove, and click Permanently Delete in the Actions column.
- In the box that appears, enter Permanently Delete and click Permanently Delete.
Permanently deleting recycle bin objects using a withdrawn policy
The policy calculates the retention period from the time an object is moved to the Recycle Bin and permanently deletes the object after the specified time has elapsed. To configure a withdrawn policy:
- In the left navigation pane, click Buckets. In the Buckets list, click the bucket you want to manage.
- In the left navigation pane, click Recycle Bin.
- In the Withdrawn policy section, click Edit in the Actions column of the default policy.
- In the Edit default policy dialog box, specify Cleaning time (days) and click OK.
- Once the withdrawn policy has been configured, deleted objects are moved to the .Trash/ directory on the Objects page. These objects are then permanently deleted once the configured retention period has elapsed.
tip
The default cleaning time is seven days, with a minimum of one day. To permanently delete objects in the Recycle Bin as soon as possible, set the cleaning time to one day.
Permanently deleting recycle bin objects using a lifecycle rule
Once the Recycle Bin feature is enabled, objects deleted via lifecycle rules or object expiration or manual deletion are automatically moved to the recycle bin directory, instead of being permanently deleted. Objects can only be deleted permanently by lifecycle rules or object expiration after the Recycle Bin feature is disabled. To disable Recycle Bin:
- In the left navigation pane, click Buckets. In the Buckets list, click the bucket you want to manage.
- In the left navigation pane, click Recycle Bin.
- On the Recycle Bin page, in the Basic configurations section, turn off the Withdrawn station status option.
- In the Close the Recycling Bin dialog box, click OK.
tip
After Recycle Bin is disabled, the original recycle bin directory remains, but it no longer functions as a Recycle Bin. You can then configure lifecycle rules or object expiration to permanently delete objects in the directory. For an introduction to lifecycle rules, see Lifecycle overview.