- Documentation
Elastic Compute Service
Elastic Compute Service
User Guide
Snapshots
Basic snapshot operations
Sharing a snapshot with other accounts
Basic snapshot operations
Sharing a snapshot with other accounts
Sharing a snapshot with other accounts
EBS lets you share a snapshot with other accounts. Then, the recipient can use the snapshot to create a volume. This topic explains how to do so.
- If you are sharing with a Volcano Engine account, you will need the account ID.
tip
To view the ID of a Volcano Engine account, log in to the Volcano Engine console and click the avatar in the upper-right corner. - To share within an organization, you must first get the ID of that organization or of a department within it.
tip
- To get the organization ID: Log in to the Organization console, and select "Organization settings > Basic information" in the left navigation pane. The organization ID is located under the organization name.
- To get the department ID: Log in to the Organization console, and select "Organizational structure > Member management" in the left navigation pane. Click the department name in the organization tree, and find the department ID in the upper-left corner of the right panel.
- In the top menu bar, select the region where the snapshot resides.
- In the left navigation pane, select "Resource sharing > Shared by me".
tip
Alternatively, navigate to the "Snapshots" page in the ECS console and click "..." > "Shared snapshot" in the "Actions" column of the snapshot you want to share. This will take you to the "Shared unit" tab. - On the "Shared unit" tab, click "Create shared unit".
- In the "Specify resource share details" wizard, enter a "Unit name" and set "Product" to "storage_ebs - snapshot". Then, select the desired snapshot ID and click "Next".
- In the "Associated sharing permission" wizard, review the actions that the recipient can perform on the shared snapshot. Then, click "Next".
- In the "Associated shared user" wizard, configure the following parameters. Then, click "Next".
- In the "Confirm and submit" wizard, verify the information. If it is correct, click "Confirm".
- Accept the shared snapshot.
tip
This step is required when "User type" is set to "Master account" for the shared snapshot. When a snapshot is shared with an organization, department, or member account, the recipient does not need to accept it. They can use it directly in the ECS console.
- In the top menu bar, select the region where the snapshot resides.
- In the left navigation pane, select "Resource sharing > Share with me".
- On the "Share with me" page, click "Accept" in the "Actions" column of the snapshot.
- The "Shared Snapshots" tab on the "Snapshots" page in the ECS console will automatically display the snapshot once the recipient has accepted it.
- Use the shared snapshot.
- In the top menu bar, set "Project" to "default(默认项目)" and select the region where the snapshot resides.
- In the left navigation pane, select "Storage > Snapshots".
- On the "Shared Snapshots" tab, click "Create new volume" in the "Actions" column of the snapshot. Follow the instructions to create a new volume from the snapshot. For more information about the parameters, see Creating a volume from a snapshot.
tip
On the "Shared Snapshots" tab, click the snapshot to view its details, including the snapshot ID and volume specifications.
By removing the recipient
Recipients cannot delete snapshots that have been shared with them. However, the sharer can remove the recipient from the shared unit, which automatically cancels the sharing of the snapshot with that recipient. The shared snapshot will also automatically be deleted on the recipient's end.
- In the top menu bar, select the region where the snapshot resides.
- In the left navigation pane, select "Resource sharing > Shared by me".
- On the "Shared unit" tab, click "View details" in the "Actions" column of the shared unit you want to manage.
- On the details page, click "Edit shared unit" in the upper-right corner.
- In the "Specify resource share details" wizard, click "Next".
- In the "Associated sharing permission" wizard, click "Next".
- In the "Associated shared user" wizard, click "Remove" in the "Actions" column of the user you want to remove.
- In the "Confirm and submit" wizard, click "Confirm".
By deleting the shared unit
Recipients cannot delete snapshots that have been shared with them. However, the sharer can delete the shared unit, which automatically cancels the sharing of the snapshot with that recipient. The shared snapshot will also automatically be deleted on the recipient's end.
- In the top menu bar, select the region where the snapshot resides.
- In the left navigation pane, select "Resource sharing > Shared by me".
- On the "Shared unit" tab, click "View details" in the "Actions" column of the shared unit you want to manage.
- On the details page, click "Delete shared unit" in the upper-right corner.
- In the box that appears, click "OK".
Last updated: 2026.05.15 15:10:44