You need to enable JavaScript to run this app.
Elastic Compute Service

Elastic Compute Service

Copy page
Download PDF
Managing instance status
Instance deletion protection
Copy page
Download PDF
Instance deletion protection
Applicable scenarios​
If your Pay-as-you-go instance carries critical services, you can enable instance deletion protection for it. After being enabled, this function prevents accidental deletion of instances through the console or API, effectively avoiding irreparable consequences due to operational negligence or untimely communication among team members. This topic describes how to set instance deletion protection in the Elastic Compute Service (ECS) console and view the protection status of an instance.​
Precautions​
  • Instance deletion protection does not prevent automatic deletions performed by the system for justifiable reasons, including but not limited to:​
  • Instances being automatically released due to Account Overdue.​
  • Instances that are identified as having security or compliance risks may be stopped or released.​
Procedure​
​
Enable deletion protection when creating an instance
Change instance deletion protection status
​
The following section describes the configurations related to instance deletion protection. For more parameter configurations, see Purchasing an instance by following the wizard.​
  1. Log in to the ECS console. ​
  1. In the left-side navigation pane, select "Instances & Images > Instances".​
  1. Click the "Create instance" button to purchase an ECS instance.​
  1. On the Custom configuration page, check "Prevent accidental deletion through the console or API" (disabled by default).​
  1. Configure remaining parameters to complete the purchase.​
​
View the status of instance deletion protection​
You can click the target instance to enter the instance Overview page, and view the status of instance deletion protection in the Basic information section. Instances with deletion protection enabled cannot be directly deleted through the console or API; you need to disable this feature before performing the delete operation.​
Last updated: 2026.06.18 16:22:24