You need to enable JavaScript to run this app.
Elastic Compute Service

Elastic Compute Service

Copy page
Download PDF
Basic snapshot operations
Rolling back volumes using snapshots
Copy page
Download PDF
Rolling back volumes using snapshots
You can use a snapshot to roll back a volume in case of a failure or data loss.​
Prerequisites​
  • The snapshot you want to use is "Available".​
  • No snapshots are being created on the volume you want to roll back.​
  • Currently, you can only roll back snapshot data to the volume from which the snapshot was taken. Make sure the volume still exists before rolling back.​
  • The volume must be in one of the following statuses:​
  • Available (not attached to an instance). You can perform the rollback directly.​
  • Attached (attached to an instance). The corresponding instance must be stopped before you can perform the rollback.​
Notes​
  • We recommend creating a snapshot to back up the current data before rolling back.​
  • Even after extending a volume, you can roll it back using a snapshot taken beforehand.​
  • If the volume is attached, do not power on the instance during the rollback process.​
  • If you extended the volume after creating the snapshot, you must extend it again after rolling back. For more information, see Extending a volume.​
Rolling back a volume from the Volumes page​
  1. Log in to the ECS console.​
  1. In the left navigation pane, select "Storage > Volumes".​
  1. In the top menu bar, select the project and region where the volume resides.​
  1. On the "Volumes" page, click "... > View snapshot chain" in the "Actions" column of the volume.​
  1. Under "Snapshot list", click "... > Rollback snapshot" in the "Actions" column of the snapshot you want to use.​
  1. In the box that appears, click "Rollback snapshot".​
Rolling back a volume from the Snapshots page​
  1. Log in to the ECS console.​
  1. In the left navigation pane, select "Storage > Snapshots".​
  1. In the top menu bar, select the project and region where the snapshot resides.​
  1. On the "Snapshots" page, click "... > Rollback snapshot" in the "Actions" column of the snapshot.​
  1. In the box that appears, click "Rollback snapshot".​
​
Last updated: 2026.05.15 15:10:43