- Documentation
Elastic Compute Service
Elastic Compute Service
User Guide
Images
Custom images
Sharing image
Sharing or unsharing custom images
Sharing image
Sharing or unsharing custom images
Sharing or unsharing custom images
You can share custom images that you create with other accounts on the platform. This allows you to deploy ECS instances across accounts. You can unshare an image when you no longer want to share the image with other accounts.
Usage notes
Share an image
You can use the ECS console or the resource management console to share your custom images with other accounts.
warning
- You can share custom images with other VolcanoEngine accounts in either the ECS console or the resource management console. Additionally, you can directly share resources with the entire enterprise organization, departments, and member accounts by using the resource management feature.
- Sharing custom images within an enterprise organization by using the Resource Sharing (RS) feature is currently in Beta. To request a trial, submit a ticket or contact your account manager.
Share custom images in the image console
- Select the "Custom Image" tab.
- In the top menu bar, select the region where the target image is located.
- Click "Shared Image" in the "Actions" column of the custom image to be shared.
- In the pop-up window, enter the ID of the receiving account and click "Share".
tip
- Separate multiple account IDs with Enter keys. For information about how to view the account ID, see Account introduction.
- To share images within an organization, click the "sharing within the organization" button to go to the resource sharing console and perform sharing operations. Learn more.
- After you share an image with other accounts, you can view the shared image in the custom image list. The shared image has the "Shared" tag. Click the name of the shared custom image to view the information of the receiving account on the "Shared object" tab of the details page.
tip
- The shared image is a non-project resource. Even if the source image is a project resource, the shared image will not be added to the project.
- The receiving accounts and their IAM users with permission to perform operations on shared images can view the accessible shared images by clicking "Image > Shared Image". For more project details, see Project management.
Share custom images in the resource sharing console
- In the directory tree on the left, select "Resource sharing > Shared by me".
- In the top menu bar, select the region where the relevant resources are located.
- Select the "Shared by me" tab, click the "Create shared unit" button, and configure the following information in sequence.
- Configure basic information and associate resources
- Associate sharing permissions
- The system automatically associates the preset policy library based on the resource type. You can click to view the details of the shared policies.
- Confirm and submit the request
- After you confirm that the current configuration of shared resources, shared users, and other information is correct, click the "Confirm" button to create the shared unit.
-
- When the new shared unit is in the Enabled status, the shared unit is created as expected.
-
- After you share an image with other accounts, you can view the shared image in the custom image list. The shared image has the "Shared" tag.
- Click the name of the shared custom image to view the information of the receiving account on the "Shared object" tab of the details page.
- You can also click the "Resource Sharing Console" button to view and manage shared account information in the resource sharing console.
tip
- The shared image is a non-project resource. Even if the source image is a project resource, the shared image will not be added to the project.
- The receiving accounts and their IAM users with permission to perform operations on shared images can view the accessible shared images by clicking "Image > Shared Image". For more project details, refer to Project management.
Unshare images
After you unshare an image, the instances that are created or reinstalled by the receiving accounts based on the image are not affected. However, the receiving accounts cannot query the shared image or use the image to create an instance or change the operating system.
warning
Image sharing cannot be canceled while the shared image is being copied by the receiving account. Learn more. Unshare images in the image console
When your custom image is shared with other VolcanoEngine accounts in the image console, you can refer to this section to unshare the image.
- Select the "Custom Image" tab.
- In the top menu bar, select the region where the target image is located.
- Click the name of the shared custom image.
- On the image details page, select the "Shared object" tab, and click "Cancel sharing" next to the ID of the receiving account.
- In the pop-up window, click "OK" to confirm the unsharing.
- After you unshare a custom image, go to the details page of the custom image and view that the information of the receiving account has been removed from the "Shared object" tab.
Unshare images in the resource sharing console
When your custom image is shared with other VolcanoEngine accounts in the resource sharing console, you can refer to this section to unshare the image.
- In the directory tree on the left, select "Resource sharing > Shared by me".
- In the top menu bar, select the region where the relevant resources are located.
- Select the "Shared by me" tab, and click the "View details" button in the "Actions" column to the right of the target shared unit.
- Click the "Edit shared unit" button.
- Select "ecs - image" in the product column.
- Clear the image that you no longer want to share.
- Click the "Next" button.
- After you confirm the sharing permissions and shared user, click the "Confirm" button to complete the operation.
Related documents
Last updated: 2026.01.09 10:18:18